Parsley Tea for Inducing Menstruation

19 Jul

I was browsing around on BabyCenter (as I do multiple times a day because I’m a bit obsessed) and I stumbled upon a post about using a ginger infusion to induce a period. Curious, I sought the wisdom of Google. I did find some information on the ginger tea, but even more hits on parsley tea.. so I changed my search.

Turns out, parsley is a mild emmenagogue (a fancy word that means it causes the uterus to contract). As a result of uterine contactions, parsley has been known to stimulate the shedding of the lining and induce a due or overdue flow. It is also used to induce a natural abortion, which I am in no way shape or form condoning. In fact, I would recommend that you do NOT try this herbal remedy if there is a chance you may be pregnant.

I am definitely not pregnant as evidenced by a negative HPT and very low BBT readings.

I want to try this remedy because I am impatient lol. I am starting treatment with an RE as soon as I can get this cycle going and if Aunt Flow doesn’t come soon I will have to take Provera. I don’t want to take Provera for 3 reasons: 1. It gives me terrible nightmares, 2. There is the potential of having to wait almost 4 weeks for it to work, and 3. I would be more than thrilled to start on my own and get this show on the road. So I’m giving this parsley thing a go and we will see what happens.

There are two ways to use parsley to induce menstruation:

Way #1: Parsley Tea

To make parsley tea you will need:

1) Parsley – fresh is preferred as it is more potent but dried will also work.

2) Hot, not boiling, water

3) a pot

4) and a pitcher or container

This is very simple people. You really do not need a college degree, but kudos if you do. You are one step ahead.

Put some water in a pot in the stove and heat it up. You want it to be hot not boiling. Boiling water can actually weaken the herbs effects. Don’t ask me how.

While the water is heating toss some Parsley into a pitcher. There is no exact measurement for how much to use. I put roughly a handful of parsley per cup of water. Too much won’t hurt you, but too little may not work. If you are using dried herbs, a tablespoon per cup should suffice.

Now pour the hot water over the Parsley and let it steep for at least 15 minutes. The longer it sits the more potent it will be. When you are ready to drink, just scoop out the herbs with your hand or strain and enjoy. I use the word enjoy lightly because this stuff is horrible!! I liken the taste to a Christmas tree. It tastes like green spice if that makes any sense.

image

Drink 3-4 cups per day.
image

Way #2: Insert into Vagina

Okay so this method is a little odd. Needless to say, I was reluctant to stuff cooking herbs into my who ha but hey it’s worth a shot I guess.

You should only do this with fresh Parsley. Take a sprig and wash it then push it up in there so that it is touching the cervix. That’s it!

Change the sprigs as you would a tampon; every 8-12 hrs.

So how long will this take to work? Unfortunately the jury is still out. I’ve read anywhere from a couple hours to a week. Keep in mind that it may not work for everyone.

My Experiment

Day 1 – I started drinking the tea at about 6pm. I drank two cups back to back at 6 and another cup before bed so 3 cups total.

I went jogging around 7:30 and while jogging I noticed sharp cramps around my cervix. This lasted for about 5 minutes then went away. Not sure if it was related to the parsley.

Day 2 – I drank 1 cup of tea in the morning and nearly lost my breakfast. Yuck!! I had two more cups after dinner (yuck again). I also inserted some fresh parsley vaginally and left it for about 8 hrs.

So far no spotting, barely crampy, I wonder if this will work?

Day 3 – I decided I just can’t do it anymore. My body is literally rejecting this stuff. When I smell it I want to vomit. Giving up.

Conclusion – Well it didn’t work for me, I started Provera 4 days later when AF never showed. Did it work for you??

24 Responses to “Parsley Tea for Inducing Menstruation”

  1. syl December 14, 2012 at 5:27 am #

    I was going on a trip. I was due to leave on 11/29/12. My menstral was due to start on 11/28/12. I began drinking parsley tea on 12/14/12. I drank it for 3 days twice a day. I thenv inserted fresh parsley in my vagina 2 different days. My menstral came on 11/23/12 and ended on 11/28/12. It worked for me.

  2. Kelsey April 14, 2013 at 5:35 pm #

    For future readers this worked for me! I took 2,000 Mgs of Vitamin C everyday for about 5 days (no rose hips or added bioflavonoids) and drank parsley tea, 2-3 cups daily for 3 days. I experienced no negative side effects and after the 3rd day of the tea, my period came 1 week early (which I had obviously purposely manipulated to). This is was my experience:
    The vitamin c clearly was nothing but putting good into my body, but apparently it starves the uterus of progesterone which then starts a period. I didn’t take 6,000 or 10,000 Mgs of it like some sites say because I was nervous of the side effects (nausea, diarrhea etc.) I just took 2,000, which is the amount in airborne and other emergency type supplements. A few days later I bought fresh parsley, boiled water and put a half a bunch in to steep for 30 min. I had no aversion to the flavor and added honey to each cup. After a day of doing that I could feel my cervix getting ready to soften up for a period. I continued to drink for the next two days and everyday I could feel period symptoms like mild cramping and mild vaginal pains. Then miss Flow came! I was elated!

    Benefits of parsley tea are that it does something to prepare the cervix and has been used for hundreds of years to stimulate and regulate periods. But that’s not all, it is extremely high in health benefits including anti carcinogen, glutathione and very heart healthy. So if anything this whole method if done the way I did it, is actually very good for the body. I had to share my experience! I hope it helps someone out there!

    • V May 30, 2013 at 5:38 am #

      Do you have to use fresh parsley or can you use prepared parsley tea bags?

    • Chalyn June 29, 2013 at 7:10 am #

      What brand of Vitamin C did you use that didn’t have Rose Hips or bioflavanoids?

      • Mikylla July 27, 2013 at 11:11 pm #

        Use Kirkland. It’s a very generic name brand.

    • Abi Watson April 14, 2014 at 3:42 am #

      is it dangerous for a 12 year old who hasn’t got her first period yet to try this.. Also can blackcurrant herbal tea help it come faster? all my friends got theirs 2 years ago and I’m left out plus I’ve had discharge for a long time longer than 2 years and it’s not thick yet so am I okay? xx please comment back In need off some help!!! Thanks

      • KT April 14, 2014 at 6:34 pm #

        periods are miserable. please just wait for your first to come naturally. once you start, you’re stuck with it for 40+ years.

  3. Len Reyes May 10, 2013 at 2:58 pm #

    What Vitamin C did you take?

    • afsrk October 20, 2013 at 4:56 pm #

      For vitamin c, u need to ask the pharmacy for 1000mg ascorbic acid tabs with no bioflavanoids. Any brand will do. :)

  4. Bonnie May 26, 2013 at 1:36 pm #

    I’m trying it now, added some fresh ginger and I like the flavour! but I’m a health freak… I’m usually around 7 days early or late and I should be getting my period around now, my boy gets back from his posting in 1 week too so I’m hoping this will work. I’ll definitely be adding some extra vitamin C into my day now as well thank you!

  5. kyeleecoats October 30, 2013 at 3:13 am #

    If you put the totally light green tea flavor water drops like the Dasani flavor water drops it helps with the taste a whole lot plus green tea helps bring on your cycle as well

  6. Shylee November 17, 2013 at 4:16 pm #

    Is the vitamin c a must?

  7. Tai January 12, 2014 at 4:24 pm #

    I drank the tea before bed and woke up in a pool of my own blood. I had terrible cramps but it was worth it

    • PoeticLover July 1, 2014 at 10:45 am #

      Did u take the vitamin c pills too or just tea n how did u make your tea?

  8. Pamela Keniston January 23, 2014 at 1:57 pm #

    I was supposed to start my period on a Thursday; the exact date I left for vacation. I have debilitating cramps and fatigue every month so I was totally dreading it. I started drinking parsley tea a week before, about for cups a day. On the second day I added 3,000 mg of vitamin c in divided doses. By Sunday I still didn’t have my period and was getting discouraged. I stopped the parsley tea, but kept using vitamin c. Monday afternoon I got my period, three days early!
    I should also add that I walked daily, used a heating pad on my belly, and took an herb mixture from standard process called femco (I’ve taken this alone before and it never brought my period early).
    It worked for me!

  9. annonymous February 10, 2014 at 9:28 am #

    I am going to try parsley tea and vitamin c tabs, today hope it will work since I am 3 days late for my periods

  10. anonymous April 9, 2014 at 5:32 am #

    Well I am a week late and I started drinking a ginger tea two days ago i can feel some minor pains on my lower stomach and my discharge is thick and yellow. I think I’m gonna start with parsley today because it seems like the ginger tea is too slow.

    • Anon April 9, 2014 at 11:42 am #

      Mine is thick and yellow too. Is that normal before a period?

  11. Benny April 28, 2014 at 12:00 pm #

    Yes it works . I took parsley tea on Sunday morning and I got into periods on monday

    • Kiana April 29, 2014 at 5:50 pm #

      Benny… How did you make your parsley tea?

  12. annonymous May 3, 2014 at 9:18 am #

    Hey can i ask do you think it will work if 1 week delay? Thnks!

  13. Jessjess May 23, 2014 at 12:08 am #

    Hey every one, will parsley tea work if you are 4 months late? I’m 13 and have irregular cycles, would like to find something that works so I can do it every month I have an important even coming up and would like to get it before then… Thanks

  14. Anon June 4, 2014 at 5:19 pm #

    If you’re having a hard time getting past the taste, try drinking your tea with a glass of almond milk near by. Alternate sips and you should be able to drink several cups of the tea. The almond milk will knock out the weird spice taste of the parsley.

  15. Ga June 26, 2014 at 2:52 pm #

    About how many cups is everyone drinking of this? Some sites say 2-6 tbs, and some say 2-3cups.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

