Fluffy Butts

26 Nov

While I was pregnant with my son, I started looking into cloth diapering. Unfortunately I didn’t look long. I immediately jumped to the (wrong) conclusion that cloth diapering was icky and hard. Afterall, we had a stack of disposables from our baby shower that resembled the Eiffel Tower. Low and behold, when Silas was about 5 months old my disposable diaper stash began to disappear and new packs were costing us a pretty penny. So I decided to give cloth diapering a go one more time.

As you know I love to do, I did a little research. Man, was I overwhelmed at first. Did you know there’s a billion ways to cloth diaper?! Well maybe not a billion but several. You can use prefolds, flats, even flour sack towels and a cover or a pocket, a fitted, a hybrid, an all in one, or an all in two. You can choose insert options such as microfiber, bamboo, charcoal bamboo, hemp, or something mysterious called zorb. That’s a lot for a gal to take in. I’m not going to even attempt to explain the differences to you but I’ll post some helpful links at the bottom of this post. All I know is I’m a pocket with a cbi fan.

What’s so awesome about cloth diapering? Well obviously it saves money. Most families save upwards of $1,000 a child! But it’s also good for the environment. Did you know it takes a disposable diaper 250-500 years to completely decompose in our landfills?! Yikes. And it’s better for your baby. No harsh chemicals.

Is cloth diapering hard? Honestly its not. Now don’t get me wrong, it isn’t as convenient as disposables but it is no where near as difficult as I’d imagined. In fact, its pretty easy, just a few extra loads of laundry and a slightly bulkier diaper bag. What about the poop? That was my main concern. The poop isn’t so bad either. If my son has a poopy I just clean him up like normal then take the diaper to the toilet, shake off the solid stuff, then spray off the diaper (with my shower sprayer but eventually I’m getting a diaper sprayer lol), and toss in the wet bag til laundry time. Pretty simple.

I love cloth diapering! And my son’s fluffy tooshie is so cute!

image

Link as promised:
Types of Cloth Diapers

Check out Diaper Junction for all your cloth diapering needs. Click the pic below to go there NOW 🙂

Leave a Reply

